No scenic route un-turned

Today couldn’t be a better day to be outdoors. Today I planned to ride later in the day, but I felt the urge to leave earlier to get a head-start on the good day. Having talked with a few friends the night before, I decided to take things easy today; really easy. I am almost certain that I could have sang a song throughout my entire ride due to the mellow pace I set for myself. Usually if the weather is less appealing to ride through, I usually speed things up and try to finish as quickly as possible. Today however, was a perfect day for a mosey pace.

Tujunga morning

Instead of planning a route on distance, I wanted to ride for an estimated time. By the end of the day, I had done about five hours of riding at a very comfortable pace. Having rode at such an easy pace, I was able to admire the amazing scenery Los Angeles has to offer. Randy Newman hit the nail right on the head when he said,

“I love L.A”

I made a genuine effort to try and reach all the scenic spots I know of to see how much more enjoyable they were when you’re not gasping for air in ugly weather. I couldn’t keep my hands off my camera to capture all the views overlooking all over the beautiful city. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From Tujunga, through Pasadena, (A place I want to repopulate in) Lincoln Heights, Elysian Park, Hollywood, and the San Fernando Valley, I loved riding through every inch of it. Rediscovering Los Angeles makes paying so much money to exist all worth it. The diversity in such close proximity is breathtaking.

Seeing as the superbowl is today, and it being a Sunday, the streets were practically empty wherever I went. Once the game begins, I am sure the streets will look like an old western ghost-town. I personally have no real interest in watching the game. I see it as an opportunity to get out of the house and seize the day.

This is a recap of my overall route: http://app.strava.com/rides/3920804

Having taking a second look at my photos, I feel that they do my ride justice with all the sights that were observed today. I don’t know if it is the curry I had for lunch, or the coffee for dessert but I feel almost euphoric right now. I don’t want to stay behind a computer for the rest of the day so I am going to keep these good vibes coming and make use of all the daylight we have today. Everyone have a safe & fun Sunday.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

