What’s in Your Cup: Buesaco Narino, Colombia

I got to brew a batch of new beans from Tonx this morning. lately my caffeine intake has been below my usual two to three cup daily average. I don’t drink many different things other than water, coffee, milk, and the occasional beer or liquor of choice (right now it’s darker liquors and stout beers.) Instead of my usual cup of coffee, I have made an effort to drink at least 24-32oz of water with my breakfast. However once these new beans came in, I went into barista mode and began my normal Wednesday morning routine. Without further adieu, I will give my humble, less-pretentious impression of the batch I’ve received.

Top:Date of roast. Middle:Name of farm Bottom: Location
Top:Date of roast.
Middle:Name of farm
Bottom: Location

The short description on the back of this page goes into a little further detail of how the beans are processed on the farm. This particular location is at higher elevations than normal, which affects how soon the fruit is ready and the way it matures and ripens. Normally, coffee grown at higher elevations produce brighter flavors of lighter colored fruits, but this particular batch strikes a good balance that isn’t as one-sided as that coming from Kenya or other African countries. “The coffee is manually pulped (seeds removed from the fruit by hand.) Fermented for 24 hours (not sure what the average fermenting time is at this point.) Washed, and then laid to dry.”

My first brewing attempt was that of the press pot (frankly because this is the quickest method I have, and I wanted the full experience that the full immersion process provides to the drinker. I brewed 34g coffee to 16oz water at 200F for four minutes.

A closer look at the bagged beans
A closer look at the bagged beans

The roast profile (like most batches from Tonx) is medium to light. I tend to prefer this, that way the flavor isn’t too overpowering to make out the subtle elements we all love to enjoy.Medium body that at first comes of as slightly earthy and shows herbal notes, continues with a creamy middle, and finishes with a subtle sweetness of cocoa. This is a smooth cup without too much brightness to it considering it’s elevation. The further into the cup you get, the more sweeter notes are brought out, and the herbal notes are blended into the drink.

Not the best cup of coffee for an emerging spring season, but still made very well. Coincidentally, I’ve wanted to cook more with fresh herbs lately and one of the first things I noticed about this cup was the hint of herbs that it presented.

-dfj

 

Leave a Reply

