What’s in Your Cup: A Tribute Blend

Today I decided to venture out and buy beans from a major corporate retailer that has locations on almost every street corner (depending on your neighborhood.) Over the past few days I have been without beans and made frequent trips to said retailer for a pour-over of their lighter, blonder roasted coffees. Having been satisfied with these, I thought it would be most beneficial to go ahead and buy a bag of beans to save the frequent trips on between Tonx shipments. To my surprise, I found a blend that caught my eye.

Pretty colors Cool brush strokes
Pretty colors
Cool brush strokes

I have been hearing that Sumatra was producing good beans around this time and saw that this along with Ethiopia, and Papa New Guinea were a part of this blend. Being unable to find a reason not to, I forked over the ten dollars and bought this along with a cup of the same blend via drip.

I can’t remember the last time I’ve had a dark roasted bean before. This in combination with the earthy notes of the Sumatra was without exaggeration, a wake up call. The other two countries that are in this blend tend to produce brighter, more flourescent notes when stood alone as a single-origin. There are said to be notes of cherries, but the earthy notes tend to overpower the rest of the taste profile (at least via the drip method.)

I consider myself quite knowledgeable when it comes to coffee. Having gloated over this, I know that darker roasts tend to have less natural (a very important word that should be paid attention to) caffeine due to the longer roasting process. Needless to say I was puzzled when I felt that all too familiar jitter I get when the right cup comes my way. This is not the desired effect every time I throw back a cup of coffee. I like to taste the flavors it has and not be ridiculed with the guilt of caloric value other beverages may have.

Having listened to a credible source I learned that many coffee producers (especially the corporate giants) put synthetically produced caffeine made in China into their batches. The article mentions that there is little to no exact measurable amount of caffeine that goes into a particular batch or a particular drink. This put a lot of puzzle pieces together for me.

I have had experiences where I go to my local shops that I trust produce coffee in a more natural and enjoyable way (Tonx included) and don’t come close to the same type of buzz I get from other select sources.

An example of an above average caffeine kick from a bigger coffee producer
An example of an above average caffeine kick from a bigger coffee producer

This in combination with stories I have heard of bigger producers adding coffee aromas to prepackaged bags to give it that fresh, just roasted scent reminds me of the artificial grill marks that come on frozen burgers (and veggie burgers all the time.) I find myself more intrigued by discovering properties like these than my normal outraged opinion at such an idea.

To summarize:

The coffee I purchased definitely has a pulse. It did not seem burned when I drank it, and still possesses certain complexities that can be brought out through different brewing methods. That being said, I can tell right away that this blend has an above average amount of caffeine in it, that I can only presume came from a synthetic source. I have yet to open the bag of beans to verify if it has that added coffee scent to mask how fresh it really is. The bag says that this coffee will remain fresh until September. No coffee on the planet will naturally resist the chemical elements in the air for that amount of time. Counting the time it took to roast, order, ship, and sit the beans on the self for some time, I know this coffee is aged and not so much for the better like wine or whiskey. I anticipate a fabricated type of freshness when I open the bag later tonight for work.

I will be taking this as a learning experience to better my knowledge of the different types of results different coffees produced by different companies may have. I have to say that I do prefer a medium roasting profile with only (and slightly below average depending on the source)  the amount of caffeine the bean produces naturally. This is a learning experience, not a waste of money. I can remember a lecture in physiology that when paraphrased, mentioned that in order to fully understand what is right in the body, you must be able to identify what is wrong with the body. Thus was the prompt for our physiological disease research paper (to which I focused on the muscular and urinary condition “Rhabdomyolysis”)

To get back on the topic of beans, I hope to contribute more information when different brewing methods come about. Be sure to follow my Twitter feed for more details and don’t forget to subscribe if you haven’t already.

-dfj

One thought on “What’s in Your Cup: A Tribute Blend

Leave a Reply

