Non-Fiction: Russia’s Fitness Goals

While browsing the interwebs, I came across an article about Russia that didn’t have to do with the mother country adopting the Crimean peninsula of Ukraine.

Warning: This post shares some radical world views that may not sit well with the population.

The Russian president Vladimir Putin thinks Russia is getting more curved around the edges and needs to get out and get active. On September he hopes to start a program to improve the overall physical fitness of the country. Time magazine would like it’s readers to believe that times are going to go back to that of Stalin to get the citizens ready for war. “It hasn’t been revealed what the modern version of the program will consist of, but back in the U.S.S.R it required comrade citizens to enter competitions in sports like running, jumping, skiing, swimming, and, well, grenade throwing.”

Who wouldn’t take a class in grenade throwing at this time and age? I know more kids including my sister would finally dress for P.E if she knew she would be shot putting an explosive cell phone sized contraption. All jokes aside, I am genuinely interested to see how this plays out. Being the crunchy vegan I am, I would like to see a fitter population even if it isn’t ours. That being said, I don’t understand how a country so cold could breed a population so out of shape and overweight; then I think of the Inuits and I digress.

Just like the passing of the legalization of marijuana in various states in hopes to see how things play out and to determine whether it was a good decision, I will be paying attention with the same respects. With our new Affordable Care Act deadline approaching and many people being unsatisfied with having their premiums raised by tremendous amounts, why not consider Putin’s approach to physical fitness as a means to help with the costs of being unhealthy. If I am going to contribute for everyone’s health care and well being, I don’t want you throwing your health out with the garbage. When the population is doing a collective good, you should be using this assistance to become a self-sustaining citizen and continue to contribute to society. It’s people like my dad who go to the doctor (when they are nagged by their significant others enough times to finally go seek medical attention for preventative care) with the mindset that they are not willing to change their lifestyles no matter what the Doc says that make the affordable care act unappealing to contribute to. This is why I am apprehensive and usually don’t contribute money to the transient. The best gift you can give to a transient is not to become transient.

Taking a step off my pedestal, the human race loves their free will even if it is slowly killing them. I can’t force people to do things they don’t want to do. I will never persuade the entire population to agree that this is a good idea because we are all so comfortable with free will. It’s part of why the Europeans came to America. To practice their own religions and to not be under the direct control of a supreme leader; I get it. Freedom is what our country was founded on, and it is a beautiful thing to have. The point I am trying to make is when things get tough and harm is done to the population as a whole, we as a society will do everything we can to avoid affecting the free will we have fought so hard for to better ourselves as a species.

Those are my thoughts on the subject. Naive as they may be, I hope that the feedback and voices from others may help enlighten my opinion on these various subjects. Don’t be afraid to speak your minds.

-dfj

Leave a Reply

