What’s in Your Cup: Cotecaga

Just this morning I was surprised to find two new objects in my possession. One came by mail, the other was acquired after a stroll around the neighborhood.

Number one
Number one

And number two

New reads
New reads

When you get used to working nights, you appreciate the day time a lot more. These two things were how I spent my afternoon.

The coffee comes from a farm in Rwanda, Africa. Immediately after receiving it in the mail, I opened it up and proceeded to taste. I haven’t been buying much beans outside of my subscription from Tonx. Frankly, I haven’t been motivated to venture out and pay for coffee per cup, or to travel across Los Angeles to arrive at a shoppe only to be apprehensive and end up getting cold feet on a bean purchase. This subscription takes all the apprehension out of the equation. Needless to say, after my dive back into the second wave coffee attempt with my tribute to a tribute blend I was eager to see how my palate would adjust back to a roast that hadn’t been burned to a crisp and had only the natural caffeine that came from that particular batch.

1st Brew:

  • Method: Press pot
  • Coffee: 34 grams
  • Water: Approximately sixteen ounces
  • Brew time: Four minutes

After trying this particular batch I began to realize a number of things. I’ve received about ten different shipments of coffee and not been given the same one twice, not even from the same regions. The coffee belt may seem a little restrictive, but there is a lot of variety out there. Another thing that came to mind was how much these third wave coffees exceed my expectations with the flavors they have. I’ve tasted all types of flavors (from previous batches) from peanut butter, passion fruit, to dates, cognac and cigars, to honeydew, lemons, with a honey finish.

This particular batch had one of the most mild tastes I’ve tried thus far. Africa is known for their brighter, more fluorescent outcomes of coffee. When I use the word mild, I mean the mild flavors you get from sparkling water. With subtle notes of bright berries. It has a full body that sits on the front and middle of the tongue the longest. The subtle notes make the finish almost transparent when finally swallowed. Even with the press pot, the oils and sediments were at an all time low although they showed not the slightest bit of buttery notes. The terms sharp and mild come to mind when paraphrasing this into seven words or less. New coffee never seizes to surprise and intrigue me.

The book was referred to me by a friend when discussing my recent void from taking a break from bike racing. This is a very short read with an introduction, preface, acknowledgments, and an appendix as long as the reading material. Right away I knew that I was going to have to read this more than once to fully grasp the concepts being illustrated; then probably go back to reading the into, preface, and other sections of the book.

The story talks about different strategies for success, much similar to that of bike racing. There is a lot of mention of only exercising efforts when you have one hundred percent assurance  that you will be successful. It talks a lot about the psychological knowledge one must know about themselves, and their enemies, otherwise you will end up with either a draw or defeat. Another point that stood out to me was that when it comes to battles, success is acquired by the quickest route possible. This stood out to me because when transposing this to the two-wheeled world, it goes against my zen-like riding approach. I like riding fast, and want to be good at it. I have yet to justify entering back into racing to seek such success, but the time will come. I’m hoping this book helps me cope with the lack of feeling I am faced with.

To get back to the coffee talk, I see myself increasing my subscription size to that of a twelve or maybe even sixteen ounce bag instead of my half-stacked eight ounce bag. These shipments last me no more than five days at a time. To be without coffee for about ten days between shipments can lead the mind to ponder strange things. Maybe it’s better that I take breaks when the beans run out. This can be a discipline opportunity and a chance to control the dependence while taking a different riding approach. For example, I am taking a break from my daily caloric monitoring and have had a more casual approach to my diet. This is a nice way to say I’ve gained weight over the last few days; It’s okay because I don’t feel the pressure and stresses racing brings about in me. My riding time hasn’t decreased a tremendous amount. I still drive my car about once a week and my enthusiasm to saddle up is still at a high level especially since the stress is no longer an issue. This mental recovery feels good despite the new pains I go through from time to time.

That’s it for the coffee & life review. I will try and keep up my number of posts since it is a therapeutic experience. Writing helps get my mind right and keeps away the loneliness. Until next time….

-dfj

Leave a Reply

