Remember When I Wanted to be a Nurse?

Change has been a recurring discussion topic in the past few weeks. Friends changing jobs, changing their surroundings, changing into what will soon become a family, changing dietary choices and so on. I too have taken it upon myself to incorporate a change in how I spend my free time.

If I’ve said it before, I know I’ve said it about ten times, I’ve never known what I want to do with my life. With my current educational background, I have a limited skill set to enter the job field with. And with the field I chose to continue through college, I would pigeon-hole myself into a more narrow field of expertise. Some people are born to be architects, surgeons, and police officers. I cannot say that at any point in my childhood that I have conjured up a thought like that. There was one point just recently where I debated whether I wished to continue my formal educational path, until a few things happened at work this week.

Just like my thoughts on intervals, I used to think that this formal way of bettering oneself was not an absolute necessity for success. Having gone through the motions with incorporating intervals into my weekly routine I see the benefits and try not to get too excited when that day of the week comes where I get to push myself for that amount of time. That’s not what got me thinking about a possible career change. Just the other day as the sun was coming up, one of my friendlier bosses (which is never seen at work any time before ten in the morning) came into work early to get the day’s tasks done sooner than usual.

I had been meaning to send him an email in regards to asking to work more hours because his brother he hired and ended up scheduling him for more hours than I for an extended amount of time. I was under the impression that he simply hired his brother as a favor, then gave him more days to work as an act of favoritism due to their blood relations. In all honesty, I didn’t have the courage to speak up in fear that I would hear the same thoughts and reasoning I had presumed were going on from his voice. Since it was just him and I in the office, I gathered the courage to speak to him and make my request. Before we get into the discussion, there is one thing I would like to mention about this particular boss.

I hold a lot of respect and trust in this guy. He was the person who interviewed me, explained the way things worked at this gig since I had no previous experience to speak of. He gave me this opportunity and I’ve tried my very best to follow his instructions to the best of my abilities. There was one point in time where I may or may not have been drinking on the job and he (amongst other supervisors) vouched for me and showed me some grace, allowing me to stay employed (no one got hurt, so don’t worry.) Every question I’ve had in regards to maintaining certificates, company and county policies have been researched and thoroughly answered by this guy. When I have a genuine concern (nothing I can’t figure out on my own if I had a full day to think about it) I go to him with all my trust.Having respected someone so much, I hope you can understand why I hesitated so much to potentially hear bad and corrupt news. In a way, I compared it to hearing your parent admit they’ve been an in-the-closet drug addict for the past six months and wanting to hear them confirm the information.

Well I finally spoke to him, and was pleasantly surprised by his response. After trying to argue the brother to brother favoritism perspective, he giggled and (without polluting this post with tons of profanity) he assured me that there is no favoritism involved and that he could give two cares about his brother from an employment standpoint. He is an employee like everyone else, and suffers the same consequences as everyone else. He mentioned that the reason why they first gave him more days than me was to allow him to get his bearings with the job. It’s been four months since he’s been hired, and we agreed that that was enough time for someone to get familiar with a job (I had three weeks and did just fine.) That being said he also told me that he  was not directly involved with scheduling and would forward my concerns with the person who is in charge of scheduling. I tried speaking with the scheduling boss a few months ago and he said that he didn’t have much control since this employer  who hired me (we’ll call him, “Rob”) has the last say-so in things. Well after having convinced Rob that what was going on between us was unfair, I felt as though things would finally turn around and be more favorable towards me.

In our discussed other words were exchanged and I had mentioned that I didn’t even know if I was going to go back to school right now. Another statement that he responded with a chuckle at what a silly idea that was.

“You’re going back to school”

“You’re going back to school” he told me. Not even as a suggestion, he was telling me that’s what I’m going to do. In order to understand how much this meant to me I have to explain a little bit of the work setting. We have around sixty or seventy employees that come and go at all hours of the day and night. The majority of them are seen starting and finishing their shifts since they’re driving around all day. As a result, very few of us know the names of most of the employees, Rob especially. Having known him for about three years now, it’s safe to say that we have a rapport of understanding and familiarity. So for him to shy away from the easy route of going along with what I was saying, convinced me that what he had to say was coming from the heart. We then continued our conversation and I concluded that a change in major was due.

As much as I want things like a significant other, a tattoo, and other long-term items, time has shown that I have commitment issues. The reason I mention this is to go back to the previous nursing major choice I thought I wanted to do. There isn’t much of career variation a nursing degree can get you. I can remember at one point I thought broad topic majors inhibited people from having concrete career goals. After having lived a little longer, I’ve realized that this isn’t such a bad thing. I have shown an interest (and accelerated understanding) in the field of science. So perhaps a degree in biology or chemistry might be a better fit for me. I’m never going to find the job that has me saying, “Yes, this is what I want to do for the rest of my life” (unless it’s becoming a professional cyclist.)

Change is good, and while it may take a little longer than expected, it has perks, lots and lots of perks.

-dfj

Leave a Reply

