What Happened

I’ll tell you what happened….

After an eventful weekend of racing I have verbally described a most recent turn of events to my physical and mental limits. It was fun and cute in the heat of the moment, but I hope to share the details now so that I don’t have to bring it up again.

I would like to preface this story with a spoiler alert for those who may or may not know the immediate details,

I AM FINE.

After having said that, if you are reading this then please believe me when I say I know you are glad to hear I am fine and in one piece. So let’s save the redundancy for when it matters. Thanks.

For those who have no clue what I’m talking about, I would like to keep things short and sweet.

During today’s race, with three, closing in on two laps to go, I was taking a right turn in a group of racers when one rider to my not-so immediate right decided to go wider than everyone else. He swiped me from the side, knocking me slightly off balance (and really knocking himself off balance) causing himself to crash. He had washed out after hitting me and swerved and rolled a bit before he came to a complete stop. Keeping him in my sights I waited for him to finally come to a halt, then proceeded to swerve around him.

Like most races, all it takes is a crash to light a match under the groups wheel and separate those who want to win from those that don’t. In an attempt to bridge the gap that had opened up, I noticed my rear wheel rubbing, in which I opened up my brake to try and finish the race. My wheel must have been really out of true because although my brakes were wide open, I could not help but prevent the rub.

I eventually finished the race after being dropped from the pack and began to assess the damage. Come to find out the reason why my wheel became so out of true was because the right seat-stay had snapped off and the uneven weight distribution must have put a damper on the spoke tension and overall roundness of the wheel.

2015/01/img_1079.jpg

Much like the remaining adrenaline that softens the blow of injury, I predict that in about three days time i will be fully aware that I no longer have a road bike to ride. A realization I can imagine much like injury, will be met with tears and bitterness. It’s times like these that I am glad I have a backup bike to ride.

If you were to ask me what’s on my mind right now, I would naturally be thinking when is the soonest time I can get back on a road bike. Having registered for a few events in the upcoming weekend, I still believe that there are options for me to race and do well. I do know that if I am not able to race again this weekend, the sadness will set in a little earlier than anticipated.

I’d like to think that I am taking this what could have been catastrophe well. After all, a turn of events like this was completely out of my control. There isn’t an ounce of guilt that I am carrying that is tied to a mistake I made. There wasn’t an overwhelming amount of fatigue that caused me to lose focus. I had been riding well and saw myself making the podium with the way everyone else was riding (most riders (myself included) felt pretty beat up after racing the day before. There were strong winds, gravel, and a slight incline that caused our one man breakaway to stay away and win the race.) I still feel like I have what it takes to achieve an exceptional amount of success that I can be proud of. A level achievement that will put the guilt of thoughts like, “What am I doing with my life?” To rest once and for all.

So that sums up my weekend. My body is intact, my bike isn’t. I still plan on riding and racing this season. Having decided that I want to walk a little further down this career path, I have justified replacing it with a new frame of equal quality. Doesn’t mean I still can’t take the track bike and keep this level of fitness on an incline.

Now that all my thoughts are out there, do we really have to discuss what happened again?

-dfj

Leave a Reply

