Audiophile

Taking a break from th memoirs and race reports….

2015 is off to a great start in the world of music. Sure you can nit-pick the bad news articles involving Robin Thicke, but if you weight out the good and bad articles in th news, the good still come out on top. 

This year was off to a slow start with album releases. While I’m not too familiar with the trends that are involved with when to release an album, I find the nievity to bring excitement. I heard on the radio that the new album release date are shifting from Tuesday to Friday which seems to be a big deal for the industry. 

I’d like to point out how grateful I am that I’ve adopted a new trend of searching for new albums that debut every month of the current year. Keeping your ear to the pulse of the music scene has many social, mental, and physical rewards. For starters its a great way to contribute to a conversation when times get weird. The other end of that linear scale is the feeling you get when you find someone who is just as awed as you are at the content of an entire album (*cough* To Pimp a Butterfly.) 

Shifting away from the neurotic traits that I believed identified me, I have a close connection with my music library and can say that I have that to show for who I am. Music is something everyone can connect with and have a conversation about. No matter if you’re a casual listener, aspiring musician, or have had a successful career in the industry, we can all hold a conversation in that regard. 

One of the things I value most is that current music serves as a timestamp of whatever is going on in the world. It’s what I imagine keeps previous generations stuck in the music of their time. Not only because it has its own quality in musicianship, but because it reminds them of a time once lived. A perhaps simpler time. A bookmark in our lives that when referred to bring back a flood of memories both good and bad. You remember where you were the first time you heard a certain album. You most likely have a story or two that ties with the song(s).

Now that the dust has settled (both from the move and the credit card purchases that came with the move.) I can enjoy my time spent here and my new beginnings. Until next time. 

-dfj

Leave a Reply

