Give Me a Break

No drive or determination. Lazy, and weak….

Ever hear these terms being used to describe kids up recent generations? Maybe I’m being a little dramatic with a few terms, but the sentiment remains the same. I can agree that the way twenty-somethings around my age can be perceived as such above mentioned terms in regards to their upbringing. I’m a great example of someone who doesn’t know what they want to do with their life but continues to do very little to change. I can see someone making the argument (on face value) that someone such as myself is preventing someone in a less privileged setting from a better life. It is a sad truth to face that there are people who are undeserving of their inherent success. Nevertheless we continue to live and strive for and existence worth meaning. I would like to make the case in defense of those a part of my generation and some who may not be very far from this type of lifestyle.

I have lived in the United States all my life. To go even further, I have yet to leave California. I believe I have a good understanding of the socially acceptable values of a capitalistic upbringing. Since childhood we are as a species pressured into striving for the highest level of success, getting the best grades possible. Getting accepted into the most credible schools (a sham I could expand upon but will save for another time.) Seeking the highest paying jobs businesses and companies have to offer. Finding the most attractive and valuable mate and starting a family. This is the Americanized rat race of life. We are all familiar with and have accepted as the foundation for our own definition of success. Ever since I was finishing high school, I felt indifferent about this entire process. College didn’t seem like a viable option for me. Ever since I opted out of the traditional path of the SAT’s, college apps, seeking prestigious universities, and a six-figure salary, I knew the rat race wasn’t for me.

One thing I do hold of value to this day is genuine human interactions. This is way more important to me than the amount of money I make at the end of the year. Sure I have a steady job and can afford to keep a roof over my head while living below my means to support a lifestyle I enjoy tremendously. When it comes to long-term goals, I find myself in a thick foggy mist of confusion and disinterest. I am convinced that those of previous generations followed and believed in a live to work lifestyle. Which would explain why older generations get upset at younger generations who choose to live (in relation to their own) more relaxed and less ambitious lifestyles. I cannot count how many times I’ve heard the phrase …. so much potential being used in references to my peers. It’s not to say that I disagrees with what is being said. I would just like to make a case for the effort that is being applied.

It may seem that kids nowadays are wasting their lives away. I would strongly disagree. One of the most prominent qualities most of us possess is a sense of urgency. We may not be following a traditional path into adulthood, but the things we hold near and dear are met with a strong sense of self worth and priority. No matter what the topic of discussion may be, whether it be work, relationships, hobbies, leisurely activities, or sex, they are met with relatively similar senses of urgency. Most of us are aware of why we are doing things whether they be socially popular or not. We are still able to approach the task with our own form of drive to meet an end goal. What more could you ask for.

As much as I enjoy riding my bike, every time I leave the house there is a sense of purpose whether it is for interval training, or for coffee in the afternoon. I am enjoying my time spent during the task at hand (to the best of my abilities) but avoid half-assing my efforts at all costs. Some people may disagree with this approach to all activities, (especially when it comes to bike riding for more recreational purposes) and while that may be fine for some, that is not what is best for me.

This goal driven process is just as important as any other plan that we may come up with. We shouldn’t look down on one another just because the things we choose to accomplish are socially unpopular from one another. Maybe it’s the southern Californian in me speaking, but while it may seem like people of our generation are just relaxing all the time, I would urge you to take a deeper look and attempt to justify beyond a reasonable doubt that your assumptions are sound.

Twenty-somethings of this day and age are more engaged than we are given credit for. We keep our heads above water, contribute to society in less capitalistic ways that are still crucial for a genuine existence, and are enjoying our time spent here. If not, it would be blatantly clear. Until next time….

-dfj

Leave a Reply

