Reflect on Surroundings

This body is telling me that their legs need a break. So, I sit and reflect on immediate surroundings

Being a twenty-something has proven to have more pros than cons. Privileges present themselves in subtle and rewarding ways. Not in the same polarizing way as a middle-aged adult demands respect from their younger counterparts, but in a similar ballpark as such. This age field has come to be the point in time in which we know what we like and what we don’t like. We as humans know whom we want to surround ourselves with (and here’s the best part) we act on those feelings. If you no longer wish to be around a group of friends you were once tight with in high school or any other formal / informal setting, there is no social stigma that compels you to stick around that group. Talk about a liberating time to be alive.

The reason I bring this up is because through being mindful of my own decision making ability on a social level, I have come to notice that there are ideas and concepts I have grown away from, and others I can’t seem to find an rational reason to shed these views. Social norms have less of an effect on my decision making on a day to day basis. It may come off as harsh or cold from time to time, but my views on the world (at this point in time) are important to me and should be respected. While this may appear like a setup into a bigoted rant on the state of Europe and the middle east (don’t worry, I’ll return to this in a bit) I assure you, it is not. I will admit that I am not formally educated enough to hold an opinion I would be able to stand behind in conversation, so, I will abstain from touching up on the issue in direct detail. Which brings me to my next point (must. stay. on. topic.)

An example of a concept that I can’t seem to shake with age and insight is (and is the main theme and purpose of this post) is redundancy. Redundancy has been a figurative thorn in my side for most of my life. All forms to an extent are met with low tolerance in my head (coming from the guy who rides a bicycle hours on end in the same areas of southern California.) Conversations are a medium in which I am hyper-aware of repetition. Most social exchanges have a flow in which people share thoughts and concepts with one another. Part of being a good listener is knowing when that person has made their main point. Where you (the listener) choose to go from there is up to you. I personally choose to wrap it up so we can continue a healthy social exchange. When met with redundancy, it begins to strain my attention and empathy in a short amount of time. I can remember when my dad and I weren’t getting along and his defense mechanism in a heated argument was (and probably still is) to make a point, make sure I understood, and repeat the same point using different language regardless if I understood where he was coming from. Something about older males and this empty space at the time a discussion should have ended doesn’t seems to bother them. To this day I have a short fuse for unnecessary repetition, and disconnect from that particular source sooner than later.

A trend I am seeing on the internets are a growing interest to share all the wrongs that are currently going on on this planet. Everyone seems to have an opinion on the way global issues should be resolved. I can’t shake the feeling  that we as a people have become overnight diplomats and activists to talk about some hot-button injustice that is honestly quite exhausting. Rather than hold my own opinion on how I think things should be, I would like to point out how silly nitpicking issues like these are in the grand scheme of things.

We live on a planet that is heavily populated by other human, animals, and other living things alike. When dealing with high volumes of species, there is going to be both good and bad things that happen in the world. People are going to die. People are going to bring new life into the world. This is the world we live in. With as many people that are living around the world, it takes little effort to submerge yourself in focusing on all the positive, or all the negative things we humans do. This can turn us either callus, or delusional. Neither of which is a healthy way to live your life. The solution? Try and maintain a balance between the two extremes.

To add to the topic of global issues (and the slacktivism that ensues) I cannot unsee the bandwagon we as a people seem to hop on when the media chooses to share a piece of tragic news with the world. I am not implying that we throw the field of journalism out as a whole and begin to live lives where we are only aware of our immediate surroundings. What I am getting at is I am not convinced that we are concerned about certain social issues as our social media accounts make it out to be. I know for a fact that I do not see myself helping out with the attacks that have been going on in Paris, Syria, or any other affected part of the world (and while I cannot speak for anyone other than myself, I have my doubts on those who choose to share their views on the matter.) The way my twenty-five year old brain works, thinks that while talking about all the wrong that is with the world may be an entertaining conversation piece for a short amount of time, it has a limit to the effect it can cause. As the redundancies intensify, we reach our limits in what conversations can do to help the situation. We all seem to reach a point of saturation in which we discuss a topic to such an extent that the inevitable question presents itself (what are “we,” “you,” or “i” going to do about it?) and is met with, in my experiences a majority response (-silence-)

Perhaps I am just jaded and need to be alone for a bit. Perhaps I have spent too much time alone and need to have a talk with someone who can sympathize with where I am coming from. I know I need to give my Facebook account a break because I am not liking what I see on my feed and will end up being more bothered the more and more I log on, expecting to see something other than “Look at this global issue we’re choosing to shed some light on right now” “You thought all was well with the world, wait until you see this” “Here’s something to get mad at the world about” and all the other side topics that come with this territory.

Welp, this is what happens when I begin to take some time off the bike and begin to reflect on the world and state of affairs, can’t wait to get back on the road again. Until next time….

-dfj

Leave a Reply

