Keep on Keepin’ on

Its not working out. We should separate. We have grown apart. Right now, I am happier without you.

Some of you may have said or had the unfortunate pleasure of receiving a phrase or two that’s been mentioned. Phrases like these often come up in failing relationships. Sadly, the ship has probably sunk by the time someone mentions this to you. I am using the context of a relationship as an analogy for another relationship between my personal feelings towards cycling.

Right in time for the start of a new season, a wave of burnout hits. I try and explain things along the lines of, “There was a time when being competitive was more enjoyable and I had the mental strength to press on. Right now that is not the case.” There were subtle signs that this was coming, and I failed to acknowledge them. Not that big of a deal as I have been through this before. I guess it’s better to know when you’re in a hole than when you’re not.

After the problems have been acknowledged by the feuding couple, there lies a fork in the road as to how the two can approach a solution. To continue to press on for the sake of a happiness that you’ve adopted into your lifestyle, or to reconsider whether or not you’re in the right place in your life. There is a sliver of foresight in trudging on to fix the issue. A nostalgic feeling of an emotional high and the sense of satisfaction after reconnecting. Most of us have the ability to see that things can get better than the way they’re going on at the time.

Once reality sets in, the issue that you have faced now becomes a part of your life. Some (not enough) people accept their fates and let go of the stigmas that come from dealing with things like social norms, failure, gender roles, and communication. These lucky few tend to be much happier about their day to day experiences and begin to remove the mountain of stress that can come from a dark place.

To tie things all together here, the moment we accept our flaws and begin looking for long-term, effective solutions towards something with we are unhappy the better. For myself and my idle bike latency, I am familiar with what needs to be done in order to correct the behavior and reignite the spark I once had. For some it is best to ride things out, be patient, and wait for the right opportunity and inspiration to strike before delving back into a mental routine whether it be a relationship, a craft, or a career.

There is no way I am taking up a new discipline. It is too late and I’ve been at such emotional highs that I don’t want to know what else is out there in hopes of a better experience. Cycling is important to me. In order to get better and continue to prosper, I need to read my own damn advice by letting go and going through the right steps to keep moving.

Leave a Reply

